Home

Something neat I ran across today. I sometimes get virtual application packages given to me without much documentation and we have a utility that artificially maps this information to registry keys which don’t exist in the App-V world. So one of the tools I use to “browse” this data is SFT View: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=8897

Well I was playing with the new App-V 5.0 beta in my lab and of course the virtual packages have a .appv file format but the neat thing is you can rename this .zip and use 7zip to browse the contents. The documentation says that you can also script this with PowerShell however I haven’t played with that yet. Stay tuned…

 

Leave a Reply

